Wouldn’t it be Wonderful…or Inspired by Paper

As mentioned in my post about my workshops in Sweden, I found K-Designs who creates some beautiful papers. So I was looking forward to start playing with them and I was actually inspired to create this layout by the design of the paper.

NathalieKalbach_wouldntit01

The photo shows my grandmother who I never had the chance to meet. She suffered from depressions and she committed suicide when my mother was only 10 years old. I often think “Wouldn’t it be wonderful if we could spent time together?” as to what my great-aunt Margot,  her sister, tells me she was a wonderful person.

NathalieKalbach_wouldntit02

I loved the black and grey paper which gives so much possibility to add paint to it. I used a couple different LuminArte Silks on the background as well as Twinkling H2Os. The Silks are Acrylic Glazes with a wonderful shine and they create a gorgeous resist . I also used the Silks on the window frame. The vase that you see on the right hand corner, is actually one of the molds that I created in this video about How To Create Your Own Molds. The bottle was actually white resin and so I added some Embossing Ink and used Stampendious Embossing Powder to make it work with the layout. I love the result.

NathalieKalbach_wouldntit03

I loved creating this – even thought the topic made me feel a bit blue…well at least I spent some time with her, right? 😉

Huge hugs and have an amazing day

Nat


Comments

  1. M. Carmen - Cuchy says:

    Such a beautiful tribute to your grandmother.
    That background is awesome!!!

  2. Sue Clarke says:

    In some way I think that your Great Aunt Margot “replaced” a Grandmother.
    Well, not replaced but stepped in for…what a nice way to spend some time with your Grandmother. It took some courage to share that story as well. The colors are gorgeous.
    Hugs,
    Sue

  3. Kathy Gledsdale says:

    Great!

  4. Love the story behind the journal page. The paper is so huey (if there is such a word)

    Hugs,

    Carmen L

  5. Love it Natalie!

  6. Love this! I can see your resemblance to your Grandmother. I happily stumbled upon your blog just recently. So glad I did!

  7. Such a thoughtful and beautiful tribute!!

  8. How lovely this is, Nat.

  9. What a beautiful testament & LO! Silks rock 😉

  10. Nat, what a fun idea all these different elements. Lots to look at and thing about how you did it all.

  11. This is beautiful, Nat. You’re honoring her with your art, what could be better? I’m certain that she is so happy and smiling now.

