My Favorite Mixed Media Essentials: 5. Stencils & Masks

I often get emails asking me about my favorite tools or supplies and I actually love those emails because they make me think of why I tend to use some things all the time.

Is it laziness? What is it about these items that make me grab for them whenever I create a Mixed Media Project?

One of the answers that came up for almost all of them is “I use them because of their versatility of usage” . That is an easy guess for an answer- LOL- since I named my favorite Online Workshop series Über*Media playing on the fact that you can use some items so MANY different ways.

But let me take you the next couple weeks on a little journey on my favorite Mixed Media essentials and explain why I could bathe in them and show you where I used them.

If you missed the other posts in this series – you can catch up here 

5. Stencils & Masks

Stencils and Masks are a constant companion of mine while creating. If you would see the stack of stencils I own you would think I am a hoarder (well I am in some perspective 😉 )- but to my excuse I have to say- I might own like 15 times the same stencil because I use them in my workshops a lot. Because they are AWESOME to use in all kinds of projects!

What I love about Stencils & Masks:

  • You can add with many different paint media wonderful images to a project
  • You can use them to create dimension and layers
  • They can be an awesome tool to add texture
  • They can be wonderful stamps
  • You can use them for Embossing
  • They can be easily created by yourself
  • If made out of the right material they can be used FOREVER
  • They can ground a background
  • You can also use them for tracing patterns

Here are some examples:

Using Stencils to trace the stars and make dimensional embellishments and with paint medium

Creating Texture with Black Gesso and Stencil

Stencils with Graffiti Spray Paints layered for a plant pot

with mostly self made stencils

Texture with mixed acrylic paint and artist spackle

Stencil used in a Die Cut Machine with Canvas Fabric to dry emboss

Masks used with ink pads for a background

Masks used with heavy bodied Acrylic paints

with water based spray paints

with a marker

Cut out stencil image

And there is so much more!

Which Stencils & Masks I love to use:

As always in this series- the answer to this question is based on my preferences, my style and my experiences

  • Since I do love to create texture with my stencils and masks I am always on the hunt for thicker material
  • I do love to use plastic or similar material ones because I want to use them FOREVER and with wet paint media too
  • Of course since I create my own designs for Stencil Girl Products – I love my own designs for them 🙂 (It would be weird if not 😉 ) and I love their designs by the other artists too! Very cool stencils.
  • The other brands I use that in my eyes have the most awesome designs and are of thicker design and the material I like  (and I might miss some of course – I can only list the ones I own and tried!) are by: The Crafter’s Workshop  (I think I probably have almost all of them – mostly Julie Fei Fan Balzer Designs and Ronda Palazzari but also some of Dyan’s – still missing on Dina Wakley’s –  this has to change!), Tattered Angels (they do not make them anymore at the moment so I hold on to my old ones), and Pink Paislee (only had a few desings- but I do love them!)
  • I do love some of the thinner masks too  – I try to use those more with spray paints or dry paint media, so that I do not ruin them. The thinner the material the more you can expect detailed images and intriguing images. So it is a bit: one or the other. As designs for thick ones I love a lot of the Prima Marketing Masks that are out there – but again they are very thin and must be treated carefully in order to not rip them.
  • self-made stencils – I love to use thick plastic sheets or cardboard for this. Crafter’s Workshop Templates is now actually now also offering sheets to make your own stencils.
  • House hold item stencils- there is a lot of things that you can use as stencils that you probably have: lace, punchinella, screen mash, nets that hold your potatoes or onions, plastic place mats that have a cut out pattern, die cuts…just look at your supplies and think how it could look like if you would use spray paint or other paint media over it.
  • Letter Stencils from the Hardware or Art Supply store because I love to add titles with stenciled letters

nSupplies

I hope you enjoy this series- next Mixed Media Essentials is coming soon 🙂

What are your Favorite Mixed Media Essentials?

hugs

nat

Comments

  1. You’re singing my song, Nat… love love LOVE stencils. If you get your hands on some Stencil Girl Products you will like them too… funky designs and a fair weight. Loved seeing all these gorgeous samples especially that cool pink/purple LO with the big alpha letters. Happy Kitting!

  2. Trying to catch up on my blog reading again – I’ve missed so much! Love this post on stencils and masks. You’ve got some fantastic ones. I love them too, and have been using them more and more. Do you have any of Michelle Ward’s stencils yet? I have some of them, and they’re great, really good material too.

  3. Thanks for the info Nathalie…!! I think all your works are great and all the technics seems very interesting…!!! Keep you informed.!
    Best regards!!

  4. I love this series! It reminds me of different ways to use my supplies. My latest fave is modeling paste – I like to spread it over stencils with a spatula and then let it dry overnight. Great raised texture!

  5. Thank you so much for doing the essentials series. I love to try some if the products you use and it gets my creative thinking going in different ways on some items. Thanks!

  6. Love the versatility!! I definitely need more stencils and masks!

  7. Sue Clarke says:

    I never tire of seeing the “TRUST” piece. Just wonderful Nat!
    I like to use embossing paste with some ink in it to get rough texture with a stencil.

  8. Nat todas las técnicas utilizadas me parecen geniales. Muchisimas gracias por mostrar tus creaciones. Un abrazo

