La Dolce Vita Part IV: Amalfi Coast

 

Last Post from Italy 🙂 We rented a car in Rome and drove down to the Amalfi Coast where hubs had rented a little house this time. To get to this amazing place in a little town called Positano though…one had to climb 200 of these evil steps!

 

There are 3 things that run through your my mind mind while hiking up

  1. The place he picked better be “extraordinary-ly” awesome!
  2. How do they ever get a new laundry machine up here?
  3. Hundred steps up to our own apartment at home without an elevator are really not THAT bad!

But it was all good- the house we had had an amazing terrace- the one in the front right here, which spans around on the right. We also had an amazing stocked kitchen that made it possible to cook a lot and spent a lot of evenings and mornings on the terrace! And look at the view – you can see capri from there.

 

One day hubs we decided to hike up to this church build in 1400. …pretty steep way up – this was taken when we already made half of the hike and about 2500 evil steps…

 

There were 4 things that went through my mind on that hike

  1. This church better be really beautiful
  2. 200 evil stairs to the Positano-Apartment are not THAT bad
  3. I guess they hadn’t had a laundry machine in 1400
  4. If you do that every day…you look pretty good …shape wise

 

The good thing about hauling your camera with you is that you have a good excuse in getting very interested in for example olive trees and take a lot of pictures from all angles for the purpose of stopping and trying to breathe a bit 😉

Well- the church was VERY beautiful and worth every single step…and stair…

I loved this church because it was beautiful in it’s simplicity…no pomp …

 

just sitting on this amazing plateau with this breathtaking view

 

We went to Capri one day- drove to Sorrento and then took the ferry. BTW driving…adventurous ….

 

Tour busses were only allowed in one direction – but the public busses of course in both. I think you have to prove you are a crazy person before you can apply for being a bus driver at the Amalfi Coast. You also have to wear GIGANTIC sunglasses. Those guys were COOL though…

 

well …back to Capri – beautiful!!!

 

just way too many people like us there… 😉

 

And here we could see our town Positano from Capri

 

The last day we went to Amalfi

 

We had a good time there…I bought some really nice handmade Amalfi Paper…love it…and will probably be very hesitant to use it for the next months- LOL (ohhh what project would be good enough to use this up???)

 

 

It was a wonderful vacation – especially after the crazy summer I had and also to get some sun as this was the WORST summer ever in Hamburg. I am freezing right now …LOL. So you made it through this vacation too- hope you enjoyed some of those pictures.

How many steps are there to the place where you live?

huge hugs

nat

 

 

 

 

Comments

  1. sandra gwilliams says:

    beautiful photos!

  2. Sue Clarke says:

    That “breathtaking view” is truly BREATHTAKING (it doesn’t even look real)!

  3. Wow A-MA-ZING!!!

  4. My home!!!!!!I write from Naples! I like you loved my places 😀

  5. LaurieJay says:

    Even though I visited Italy and Capri once, many years ago, I found your photo of Capri heart-stoppingly beautiful.

  6. Nancy Sapp says:

    Nathalie – Your wit is charming, your pictures stupendous & make us all jealous. Cold, damp & gloomy today is central IL, USA. Only 1 step into our house! Guess that’s very good as there are 12 steps to the basement to do the laundry & I’ve fallen down them 3 times! Can U say “Clumsy?”
    Thanks for sharing,
    Grandma (to 2 beautiful Blonde grandsons) Nancy Sapp

  7. OH!! beautiful images……………for dreams.
    Huhgs

  8. Oh what beautiful pictures! Now you must have very toned legs from all of those steps! Not many steps – we Canadians drive way too much and walk not enough!

  9. Gorgeous!!! Thanks for sharing your trip with us!

  10. 6 steps to the house….Nat these photos are INCREDIBLE…to be able to visit places like this is a dream for me!

  11. Gorgeous! I think more and more about Italy as the Vermont winter approaches. I didn’t realize I’d have to take steps into consideration, though! 😉 Only three steps here, two if you come in through the garage!

    • Oh I love Vermont and I love the winter there too…well at least I have been in Vermont one time during winter time. But I hear you…I could live with some more sun too 😉

  12. The stairs a maybe the driving not so much. Thank you for sharing.

  13. omg WOW!!
    jealous much, your photos are glorious!
    no steps here, just a gently sloping driveway 🙂

  14. Great photos, they confirmed my wish to visit Capri & Positano even more. And if I start training now, I should be ready for those steps in about, oh, five years or so. 🙂 Thanks for sharing your Italian adventure.

  15. LOL just one floor and I usually … (well, always) take the elevator 🙂
    How beautiful places. On my wish list…

  16. What a wonderful holiday … your photos are beautiful!

