Colors Are Your Friends or let’s talk a bit of “my” Color Theory VI

In case you missed the other posts of this series- I collected them all on this page here.

We are still discussing:

and with this last post in the series I wanted to show you which color combinations I love and where I find inspiration for those color combinations 🙂

So where do I find inspiration for color combos? I would say there are four main categories for me:

  1. Nature
  2. Street Art
  3. Art Work
  4. Catalogues or Magazines

I usually have my cell phone which has a camera with me anyway and as soon as I see something that I think will inspire me later for some color combination I take a photo for later. If I’m stuck or want to get out of my usual color routine I just scroll through my photos. Here are some that I have taken the last couple weeks just for that purpose with my phone.

1. Nature

Nature is an amazing source of color combinations- flowers especially- like this one:

See the colors that are in this flowers

2. Street Art

Often times graffiti or street art has some amazing color combos too – like this one

Love those colors together

3. Art Work

When I go to a museum or exhibition I also love looking for amazing color combinations- Like this painting by Neo Rauch – he rocks color combinations that are unusual in my opinion

I would have never thought by myself using those colors together

4Catalogues or Magazines

I do not read a lot of fashion or gossip magazines but if I get one I usually just look for color combinations  🙂 and then …well…as you are looking you might as well just read the stories- right – LOL

these colors make me happy together

Here are some projects I created using some of my favorite color combinations at the moment 🙂

Here are the colors:

here is another one

and the colors:

And my beloved jewel tones

here is the color palette

And one last one 🙂

and the color palette

It is so much fun to be friends with Colors. After a while you do not even have to think much with which ones you want to hang around and which ones you want to bring together- I promise you – with just the little color theory we talked about in the past posts, you will instantly grab the right ones and make them sing in an amazing choir 🙂

I hope you enjoyed the “Colors Are Your Friends”- Series- you will find the complete post here

Nat

 

 

Comments

  1. Love, love your color combinations!!!!

  2. I love your colourful post and WOWZAH, that Neo Rauch painting is fabulous!

  3. love all your color theory post! you could easily write a book on it! =)

  4. Great ideas! And I love how you pulled the colors from each of your examples to show the palette–works well with my one-dimensional mind! And, perhaps I was on to something; yesterday I cut part of a clothing catalog that had a stack of T-shirts to show all the colors they are available in. I felt it could be useful somehow. Now I know how! 🙂

  5. Hey there Nat, Was thinking about ya this morning. Hope you are doing well and although I know you are super busy, perhaps at CHA, we can meet for coffee. Hugs to you.

  6. Sue Clarke says:

    This series has helped me to see color in a different way. The color combos that you posted are not ones that I would come up with naturally so it’s fun to see how they inspired you to make your colorful art Nat.

  7. Great color examples! Color’s are my friend also as that usually is how I see everything :]

